Changes made to Topic descriptions will be saved in the Content Backup fea, so you can restore previous versions if necessary.
When editing a Topic in the Admin console under Configuration > Manage Topics, the editor tool will have a menu option to “Restore from Backup” under the Design tab.
Clicking this button will bring up a dialog with a list of past edits made to this Topic:
Clicking on one of the rows here will insert the HTML from the selected version of the Topic into the editor tool. You can then make further changes to the Topic if needed, and you will need to “Save” the Topic just like any other edit in order to apply the content to your website. You can abandon the restoration by Closing or exiting the topic edit session without Saving.
NOTE: At this time, only Topics are backed up. We may update this in a future release to save past versions of other content, such as Product and Product Group Descriptions and Summaries. Backups are also saved when using the Inline Editor feature. There is no limitation to the number of backups at this time.
Only changes made to Topics in the Admin console are backed up.
If you use a different method for modifying Topics, such as a WSI integration, or direct database access, you will need to manually save backups of content if you want those operations to use this new Content Backup functionality.
Backups of content are now saved to a new ‘ContentVersion’ database table.